Tribute to Veterans

poppy_0002

IN FLANDERS FIELDS POEM
The World’s Most Famous WAR MEMORIAL POEM
By Lieutenant Colonel John McCrae

Lieutenant Colonel John McCraeIn Flanders fields the poppies blow
Between the crosses, row on row,
T
hat mark our place: and in the sky
The larks still bravely singing fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.

We are the dead: Short days ago,
We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow,
Loved and were loved: and now we lie
In Flanders fields!

Take up our quarrel with the foe
To you, from failing hands, we throw

 The torch: be yours to hold it high
If ye break faith with us who die,
We shall not sleep, though poppies grow
In Flanders fields

PRAY FOR PEACE

This entry was posted in flanders field, poppies, veterans day, Writing 101 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tribute to Veterans

  1. capejohn says:

    Welcome to blogging. I began in 2005 and haven’t’ slowed down yet.
    I got your note about being from Massachusetts. You never did say what part or as we say here, wherebout’s? I visit Austin every year, usually in August. My son races bikes there and also works on Rainey St. at Javelina. Austin is central Texas right? You nearby?

    Like

    • mcarnes811 says:

      Yes Austin is Central Texas. I am about 40 min away in Georgetown. I grew up in Woburn Ma but spent the last 30 years of my life in Attleboro Ma Worked in Providence RI I miss Federal Hill and the Italian food. You can get Italian here It’s decent but it is just not the same as Federal Hill

      Like

  2. capejohn says:

    p.s. I visit Austin in October not August. I would melt like the witch of the west, or was it east. Whatever.

    Like

  3. BunKaryudo says:

    It’s a beautiful but very sad poem. Let’s hope no future generation ever has to go through what they went through.

    Like

  4. Robin says:

    I head heard of “Flanders Fields” many times, as many of my friends from the U.K. have told me about it. But I’d never read it in its entirety. I am an Army veteran’s daughter, so poems like this one are very meaningful. Thanks for posting it.

    Like

    • mcarnes811 says:

      Hi Robin
      Yes it is indeed a beautiful poem. I live in Georgetown Texas where every year we have the Poppy Festival. We just had the festival last weekend The story goes that a soldier from WWI brought home some poppy seeds for his mom. She lived in the historic section of Georgetown and planted the seeds. Today all of the old town section of Georgetown have poppies growing every April and they are most beautiful. I was an Army nurse during the Vietnam era so veterans are also close to my heart

      Like

Leave a Reply

